When Can I Enroll in Medicaid

Enrolling in Medicaid is a process with its own set of rules and requirements. The eligibility for Medicaid is determined based on various factors like income, age, disability status, and family size. The enrollment period for Medicaid is typically open all year round, but there might be deadlines or waiting lists in some states. To enroll in Medicaid, you can either apply online, through mail, or by visiting your local Medicaid office. You will need to provide proof of income, identity, U.S. citizenship or legal residency, and other relevant information. Medicaid coverage usually begins on the first day of the month following your application approval.

Medicaid is a government-funded health insurance program that provides coverage for people with limited incomes and resources. Eligibility for Medicaid varies from state to state, but generally, you can enroll in Medicaid if you:

Medicaid Eligibility Requirements

  • Are a citizen or legal resident of the United States.
  • Are pregnant or have children under the age of 19.
  • Meet the income and asset limits set by your state.
  • Are eligible for Supplemental Security Income (SSI).
  • Are receiving disability benefits from the Social Security Administration (SSA).

In addition to these general requirements, there are a number of other factors that can affect your eligibility for Medicaid. These factors include your age, marital status, and disability status.

If you are not sure if you are eligible for Medicaid, you can contact your state Medicaid agency for more information. You can also apply for Medicaid online or through the mail.

The following table provides a summary of Medicaid eligibility requirements in each state.


StateIncome LimitAsset Limit

Medicaid Open Enrollment Periods

Medicaid Open Enrollment is the time of the year when individuals can apply for Medicaid benefits. During this period, states accept new applications and redeterminations for Medicaid eligibility.

Special Enrollment Periods

There are certain situations when individuals can enroll in Medicaid outside of the Open Enrollment Period. These situations are known as Special Enrollment Periods.

  • Pregnancy: Pregnant women can enroll in Medicaid at any time during their pregnancy and up to 60 days after the end of their pregnancy.
  • Children: Children under 19 can enroll in Medicaid at any time during the year.
  • Aged, Blind, or Disabled: Individuals who are aged, blind, or disabled can enroll in Medicaid at any time during the year.
  • Loss of Coverage: Individuals who lose their health insurance coverage due to job loss, divorce, or other reasons can enroll in Medicaid within 60 days of losing coverage.
  • Moving to a New State: Individuals who move to a new state can enroll in Medicaid within 30 days of moving.

Table of Special Enrollment Periods

#SituationEnrollment Period
1PregnancyAny time during pregnancy and up to 60 days after
2ChildrenAny time during the year
3Aged, Blind, or DisabledAny time during the year
4Loss of CoverageWithin 60 days of losing coverage
5Moving to a New StateWithin 30 days of moving

Medicaid Enrollment Eligibility: Income and Asset Limits

Medicaid is a government-sponsored healthcare program that provides coverage to individuals and families with low incomes and limited resources. To qualify for Medicaid, applicants must meet certain income and asset limits. These limits vary by state, but the general guidelines are outlined below:

Income Limits

Income limits for Medicaid eligibility are based on the federal poverty level (FPL). The FPL is a measure of poverty that is used to determine eligibility for various government programs. In 2023, the FPL for a family of four is $34,284.

To be eligible for Medicaid, an individual’s or family’s income must be below a certain percentage of the FPL. This percentage varies by state, but it is typically around 138% of the FPL.

For example, in California, a family of four with an income of less than $46,787 per year is eligible for Medicaid. In Texas, a family of four with an income of less than $45,456 per year is eligible for Medicaid.

Asset Limits

In addition to income limits, Medicaid also has asset limits. Assets are anything of value that an individual or family owns, such as cash, bank accounts, stocks, bonds, real estate, and vehicles.

The asset limits for Medicaid vary by state, but they are typically around $2,000 for an individual and $3,000 for a couple. However, there are some exceptions to these limits. For example, certain assets, such as a home and a vehicle, are not counted towards the asset limit.

Other Eligibility Requirements

In addition to income and asset limits, there are other eligibility requirements for Medicaid. These requirements vary by state, but they may include:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Pregnancy
  • Caregiver status
  • Citizenship or legal residency status

How to Apply for Medicaid

To apply for Medicaid, you can contact your state’s Medicaid office or visit the Medicaid website. You will need to provide information about your income, assets, and other household members. You may also need to provide proof of your identity, citizenship or legal residency status, and disability.

If you are approved for Medicaid, you will receive a Medicaid card. This card will allow you to access healthcare services from participating providers. You will not have to pay for these services, or you will have to pay a small copayment.

Table of Income and Asset Limits by State

StateIncome Limit for a Family of FourAsset Limit for an IndividualAsset Limit for a Couple
New York$51,516$2,250$3,750

Emergency Medicaid Coverage

Emergency Medicaid provides temporary coverage for individuals facing medical emergencies who don’t have health insurance. This coverage is also known as 1115 waiver or disaster relief Medicaid. It can cover a range of medical services, including:

  • Hospitalization
  • Emergency room visits
  • Physician services
  • Prescription drugs
  • Laboratory and X-ray services

To be eligible for Emergency Medicaid, you must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or legal resident.
  • Meet certain income and resource limits.
  • Be experiencing a medical emergency.

Income and resource limits vary from state to state. To find out if you qualify for Emergency Medicaid, contact your state Medicaid office.

Emergency Medicaid coverage typically lasts for a short period of time, usually 30 days. However, in some cases, it may be extended for up to 6 months.

StateIncome LimitResource LimitContact Information
California$17,609 for a single person
$36,156 for a family of four
$2,000 for a single person
$3,000 for a family of four
(800) 887-5720
New York$16,400 for a single person
$33,400 for a family of four
$2,500 for a single person
$4,000 for a family of four
(855) 355-5777
Texas$15,400 for a single person
$31,900 for a family of four
$2,000 for a single person
$3,000 for a family of four
(877) 541-7905

Well, that’s all about when you can enroll in Medicaid. If you have any questions, be sure to contact your state Medicaid office. Thanks for reading, and I hope you’ll come back again soon to learn more about this important program. In the meantime, take care and stay healthy!